Speak to our venue team, to request more infomation.

    0845 688 4410

    Museum of the Order of St John

    EC1M 4DA

    In the heart of the City, the Museum of the Order of St John is an exceptional venue for conferences, parties, dinners, presentations and concerts.

    In the heart of the City, the Museum of the Order of St John is an exceptional venue for conferences, parties, dinners, presentations and concerts.

    Described as a hidden jewel in the City of London, the Museum of the Order of St John offers a brilliant blend of old and contemporary design as rooms dating from the twelfth and sixteenth centuries have been lovingly preserved and set amongst crisp modern spaces.

    The Museum of the Order of St John includes seven unique spaces ranging from the Chapter Hall which can host up to 200 guests to the intimate Old Chancery space that can accommodate up to 50 guests.

    Host your conference event in The Church and invite up to 200 guests to sit at pews or host a concert in the Crypt beneath the Priory Church in one of London’s only remaining Norman buildings. Equally, the Old Chancery is an example of the unique offerings of this venue. As the anteroom to the Chapter Hall or Council Chamber, it is one of the venues smaller spaces crammed with individual features. It is dominated by a carved Elizabethan fireplace, contains a selection of priceless silver and is lit up by magnificent stained glass windows. 

    city mapper

    The Order of the Hospital of St John of Jerusalem was founded by a group of Knights who took vows of poverty, chastity and pledged to care for the sick after the first Crusade captured Jerusalem in 1099. The hospital was established in Jerusalem to care for ill pilgrims. Conflicts forced the order to relocate and in 1291 the Order moved to Cyprus, then Rhodes and then in 1522 to Malta. In 1798 the Order moved to Rome and the original Roman Catholic Order still works there as a sovereign entity engaged in international humanitarian work.

    The English headquarters of the Order were established in Clerkenwell in the 1140s. The Order was dissolved when Henry VIII split from the Catholic church (briefly to be reinstated by Mary until Elizabeth I dissolved the Order for good.

    During the sixteenth century the buildings were used as offices of the Master of the Revels and 30 of Shakespeare’s plays were licensed here. In the eighteenth century, the father of William Hogarth ran a coffee house from the buildings until they were later turned into The Old Jerusalem Tavern pub.

    The modern Order of St John in England was granted Royal Charter by Queen Victoria in 1888. The Order established the first public first aid and ambulance transport services in industrialised England and also an eye hospital in Jerusalem. These services remain today and the Order runs St John’s Ambulance and the St John Eye Hospital in Jerusalem.

    The Museum of the Order of St John has been welcoming guests for over 100 years and in 2009 was redeveloped with a £3.6 million Heritage Lottery Fund grant. The Museum of the Order of St John reopened to reveal new galleries and facilities in November 2010.

    Dinner 10-80
    Buffet/Reception 20-150
    Conference 20-100